This bridge was probably built in 1789 to the designs of a Mr Cook, who was paid £344 in that year for work in the park involving masons and labourers. It spans a cobbled surface leading from the Pleasure Grounds into the Old Castle and is wide enough to take a carriage. The two niches were probably for the coachmen to stand in while the coach drove through. The iron gates were put up by a local man, Henry Denning and match those at the Clairvoir nearby. The Old Castle ramparts were dug away to make the steep cutting through which the carriage drive leads up to the ruins. The Old Castle was always part of the Park, and the Digbys liked to take their visitors up to see the ruins, and to admire the views. The course of the old road to Dorchester runs over the top of the bridge and is now called Dry Grounds Walk, taking its name from the adjacent Dry Grounds Field. It is hoped one day to restore the Bridge so visitors can pass through it.